Students Placed 1st at the Seventh Annual Sports Turf Competition – Turfgrass Science at Purdue University

Students Placed 1st at the Seventh Annual Sports Turf Competition

Cody Whitis, Justin Shirley, Joey Gerking, and Zak Peterson traveled to Austin, TX for the seventh annual Student Challenge Exam at the Sports Turf Managers Association (STMA) Meetings. Purdue placed 1st out of 32 teams. The students worked hard to prepare for the competition and were surprised when announced in 1st place. “This motivates us to continue to work hard in order to do well at the GCSAA Show in Orlando, FL” according to 3rd year turf bowl member and President of the Turf Club, Justin Shirley. The STMA is rich with Purdue University tradition as the late Dr. Bill Daniel, long-time Purdue professor and a pioneer in the turf industry, was one of the four founding members. Dr. Daniel is honored each year by an award in his name that honors individuals who have significantly contributed to the sports turf industry through research, teaching and extension.

Teams from various colleges and universities participated in a written exam on sports turf and sports field topics. The two hour competition included the identification of insects, grasses, and weeds and covered mathematics, soil physical properties, plant physiology, and plant growth and development in addition to question on athletic field construction, design and maintenance. At the conference, students were able to take advantage of many activities specifically geared to them including the student challenge exam, workshops and a student network luncheon. The teams would like to acknowledge the support they received this year from the Midwest Regional Turf Foundation (MRTF), Agronomy Department, their advisor Dr. Cale Bigelow and graduate teaching assistants, Tracy Tudor and Jon Trappe. Without Dr. Bigelow, Tracy Tudor, MRTF and the help of the Agronomy Department the students would not be able to compete in the STMA competition. Please commend them on their performance and hard work the next time you see these students.

STMA 2011 490

1st Place team pictured left to right: Chris Calcaterra (STMA President), Cody Whitis, Justin Shirley, Joey Gerking, and Zak Peterson


Share This Article
Disclaimer: Reference to products is not intended to be an endorsement to the exclusion of others which may have similar uses. Any person using products listed in these articles assumes full responsibility for their use in accordance with current directions of the manufacturer.
Turfgrass Science at Purdue University - Horticulture & Landscape Architecture, 625 Agriculture Mall, West Lafayette, IN 47907

© 2021 Purdue University | An equal access/equal opportunity university | Copyright Complaints | Maintained by Turfgrass Science at Purdue University

If you have trouble accessing this page because of a disability, please contact Turfgrass Science at Purdue University at